Media bias is a world view–Mark on TV

Media bias goes far beyond the skewed headline here and there. As I told my old friend Yaron London, one of Israel’s leading journalists and Renaissance people on Channel 10 TV a few minutes ago in Hebrew, over the past three decades I’ve watched journalists pick IMG_1733sides in conflicts instead of reporting and analyzing without preferences. They tend to favor the weak side. That certainly applies to Israel and the Palestinians–but I found similar distortions in reporting while I was in Egypt 2011-2013 covering Arab Spring.

A personal note–it was great catching up with Yaron, whom I’ve known for more than 40 years. I gave him an autographed copy of my book, “Broken Spring”–and he said he thinks he read parts of it and might even have it at home already. Yaron is 76 and going strong…we might be the last of the Mohicans when it comes to old-time journalism around here.

And even if you don’t understand the Hebrew–you might enjoy listening to a couple of old-fashioned radio voices…

Leave a Reply

